INF Is Involved In A Number Of Scientific Meetings


INF Is Involved In A Number Of Scientific Meetings


ICN 2026 - The 12th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

Pan American Neuroendocrine Society 2024

14th World Congress on Neurohypophysial Hormones

Kisspeptin - July 23-25, 2026

Kisspeptin 2026


4th BSN-SNE Joint Meeting of Neuroendocrinology

The congress will last 3 full days, from the 22nd to the 24th of September 2021, and will be entirely online. The scientific program elaborated by both the SNE’s and BSN’s scientific committees includes 4 plenary lectures and 4 symposia. The objective of the meeting is to highlight recent advances in Neuroendocrinology with the best specialists in the field.


10th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

7-10 August, 2022

SEC Glasgow, Scotland

9th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

15-18 July, 2018

The Westin Harbour CastleToronto, ON, Canada

8th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

August 17-20, 2014

Hilton Hotel, Sydney, Australia

7th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

July 11-15, 2010

Law Faculty, Rouen, Normandy, France

6th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

June 19-22, 2006

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

5th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

August 31-September 4, 2002

University of Bristol, Bristol, UK

4th International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

October 1998

Kitakyushu, Japan

3rd International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

July 3-8, 1994

Budapest, Hungary

2nd International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

June 24-29, 1990

Bordeaux, France

1st International Congress of Neuroendocrinology

July 9-11, 1986

San Francisco, California, USA

INF Geoffrey Harris Memorial Lectures

This lecture series commemorates Geoffrey Wingfield Harris, FRS (1913-1971), the ‘father’ of neuroendocrinology.

Harris showed through a series of elegant experiments that ‘the hypothalamo-hypophysial portal vasculature is necessary for the maintenance and control of normal activity of the anterior pituitary’, contrasting this mechanism with the direct neural control of the posterior pituitary. He proposed that ‘of the many possibilities’ to explain these effects ‘the most likely seems to be that nerve fibres from the hypothalamus liberate some humoral substance(s) into the capillaries of the primary plexus in the median eminence and that this substance is carried by the portal vessels to excite or inhibit the cells of the pars distalis’ (Harris GW, 1955; Neural Control of the Pituitary Gland. Monographs of the Physiological Society 3, London: Edward Arnold, 298pp).

The Geoffrey Harris Memorial Lectureship, first awarded in 1974 to Sawyer in New Delhi, was the highest honour of the International Society for Neuroendocrinology (ISN) and continues to be recognized in this manner by the International Neuroendocrine Federation (INF) which succeeded the ISN when it was dissolved in 2000. The honour recognises major contributions by the lecturer to the advancement of knowledge in neuroendocrinology.

The INF Executive Board nominates the Lecturer from up to three names suggested in consultation with the Program and Local Organising Committees of the International Congress of Neuroendocrinology. The INF provides an honorarium for the lecturer.


CH Sawyer (USA) 1974
R Guillemin (USA) 1976

BT Donovan (UK) 1977

B Flerko (Hungary) 1979

SM McCann (USA) 1980

J Meites (USA) 1981

E Knobil (USA) 1982

WW Vale (USA) 1984

KJ Catt (USA) 1985

T Hokfelt (Sweden) 1986

S Nakanishi (Japan) 1988
L Martini (Italy) 1990

B Halasz (Hungary) 1992

D deWied (Netherlands) 1994

M Palkovits (Hungary) 1998

MG Rosenfeld (USA) 2002

RP Millar (Rep S Africa) 2006

IJ Clarke (Australia) 2011

TM Plant (USA) 2014